To: California Community College Counselors and Advisers

From: Enrollment Services – University of California Office of the President

Subject:

Colleagues,

Despite the U.S. Department of Education's 2020 decision to remove the differentiation between regional and national accrediting agencies, the UC Academic Senate recently reiterated the University's practice of accepting coursework only from institutions accredited by the seven formerly regional accrediting agencies. For reference, those accreditors are:

- 1. Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE)
- 2. 5. Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)
 - 6. Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges (ACCJC)
 - 7. WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC)

Courses from institutions that do not hold accreditation from one of the seven formerly regional accrediting bodies listed above will not be considered in UC transfer admission and selection processes. A UC campus, at their discretion, may choose to award credit for such courses on a course-by-course basis after the student matriculates.